Big Ten Tournament Roundup: Day 1

By Jake Eisenberg

The first day of the 2016 Big Ten Tournament was a day of underdogs.

In the opening game, (6) Maryland upset (3) Indiana, winning 5-3 behind Mike Shawaryn’s career-high, TD Ameritrade Park record-breaking 16 strikeouts. The junior right-hander allowed just four hits and three runs (two earned) in his complete game effort. Freshmen Marty Costes and Nick Dunn combined to go 6-9 with three RBI and four runs scored to lead the Terps’ offense.

(3) Indiana vs. (6) Maryland Box Score

A few hours later, (7) Michigan St. defeated (2) Nebraska, riding a five-run sixth inning and a strong start from ace Cam Vieaux to win 5-1. The southpaw nearly went the distance, tossing 8.2 innings of one-run baseball, allowing just three hits and one run. He walked two and struck out one. The Spartans plated its five runs with the help of five hits and two Cornhusker errors.

(2) Nebraska vs. (7) Michigan  St. Box Score

Today, (3) Indiana and (2) Nebraska will play at 9:00 a.m. CT/10:00 a.m. ET with elimination on the line. (6) Maryland faces off with (7) Michigan St. at 5:00 p.m. CT/6:00 p.m. ET.

The bottom half of the bracket featured the biggest upset of the day. (8) Iowa took out (1) Minnesota, putting up eight runs on 18 hits to win 8-2. Joel Booker went 5-5 with a walk, reaching base six times. His five hits—all of them singles—tied a Big Ten Tournament single-game record. On the mound, C.J. Eldred out-dueled Big Ten Player of the Year Matt Fiedler, allowing two runs across seven frames, striking out five.

(1) Minnesota vs. (8) Iowa Box Score

The final game of the day was the only one where the higher seed prevailed. (4) Ohio State beat (5) Michigan for the fourth time this year—the Buckeyes swept the Wolverines during the regular season. Ohio State won 8-3, powered by two home runs from Nick Sergakis and a six-run fifth inning.

(4) Ohio State vs. (5) Michigan Box Score

Today, (1) Minnesota will face (5) Michigan in the Loser’s Bracket at 1:00 p.m. CT/2:00 p.m. CT with elimination on the line. (4) Ohio State will take on (8) Iowa in the nightcap, starting at 9:00 p.m. CT/10:00 p.m. ET.

Here’s a look at the updated Big Ten Tournament bracket:

Screen Shot 2016-05-26 at 9.33.10 AM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s