Maryland Eliminated from Big Ten Tournament After Eleven Inning Loss to Indiana

In a game both teams needed to win to stay alive, top-seeded Maryland fell to Indiana 6-4 in eleven innings, eliminating the Terps from the Big Ten tournament.

The Terps led for most of the late innings until the Hoosiers scored on a double play in the top of the ninth. The decisive blow came off the bat of Josh Pyne, who capped off a fantastic day at the plate with a two-run single in the top of the eleventh.

The game was back and forth all afternoon, an early 2-0 Hoosier lead being countered by RBI singles from Schreffler and Chris Alleyne in the fourth and fifth innings respectively.

Schreffler entered the game leading all batters with six hits in tournament play. With two more today and another run driven in, the third team all-Big Ten honoree was the clear MVP for this team over the three tournament games played.

On the mound, Nick Dean produced a solid outing, allowing two earned runs on five hits in five and two-thirds innings pitched. The Terps starter worked his way through a few precarious situations including a three-error inning that resulted in an unearned run crossing the plate.

While errors certainly hurt Maryland today, they also provided scoring opportunities. A Maxwell Costes sixth inning bunt was airmailed past first base by Indiana pitcher Braydon Tucker, allowing Schreffler and Matt Shaw to score.

Despite his error leading to two runs, Tucker was one of the biggest reasons Indiana was able to come out on top, providing six quality innings out of the bullpen. He came on in relief in the sixth inning and pitched all the way to the end of the game, throwing 98 pitches in the process.

Maryland leaves Omaha losing two out of three games played in the Big Ten tournament, falling to 46-12 on the season and 3-1 in extra-inning games.

For now, this Terps squad will have to wait until Monday when NCAA tournament seeds are announced to find out who they will be playing in the regionals and if those games will be played at Bob “Turtle” Smith Stadium.